Roofing License Requirements By State

Posted on December 5, 2022 by Berverley Chengetai

Roofing Business Roofing Licence

If you have a roofing business or are wondering how to become a roofer, it's a good idea to comply with all laws. With different regulations and license requirements in each state, you’ll need to know the ins and out before starting your business to take it to the next level.

We’ve compiled comprehensive roofing license requirements across some USA states. You must have the proper insurance in many states to get a license. You may also need proof that you have experience or have taken an exam.


You must be licensed for any projects worth more than $500. Contractors fall under the Class C Specialty Contractors License Classifications issued by the Department of Consumer Affairs Contractors State License Board.

To get a license in California, you must pass an exam, but before you apply, you’ll need to show at least four years of experience in the past ten years at a journeyman level, foreman, supervisor, or contractor in the classification for which you’re applying. You’ll also need a $15,000 surety bond for a license in California.


Florida has two options for a roofing contractor license. You can become a certified contractor to work on projects throughout the state or a registered contractor if you only plan to work on projects in a specific city or county.

The certified contractor license has several requirements, including education and work experience, a background check, and insurance. Registered contractor license requirements include a certificate of competency, proof of financial responsibility, and business insurance in Florida.

Learn more about roofing license requirements in Florida.


There are no state license requirements for contractors in Georgia. The state of Georgia does not require roofers to get a license. But that doesn’t mean you should just assume you don’t need one. It’s a good idea to play it on the safe side regarding licensing. You may also get licensed voluntarily with (GARCA).


Despite the high level of skill required to succeed in this line of work, anyone in the State of Texas can offer roofing services. General liability insurance is still a requirement, especially in Austin and San Antonia.


All contractors require a state license issued by the Utah Department of Commerce Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing to work in the state. You’ll need to pass trade and business, and law exams.
To be eligible for the exam, you must have four years of work experience and show proof of general liability and workers' compensation insurance.

In conclusion, as a professional contractor, it’s important to mitigate as many of these risks as possible for your employees' and clients' safety. One big step that you can take is obtaining a roofing license. Comment below with more information on what other states' licensing requirements are.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *